Holy Stratos!!!

Anton

Holy Stratos!!!
« on: 5 Mar 2004, 01:08 am »
As many of you will probably know, I bought four Stratos monoblocks (not the extremes) about two and a half years ago (September 2001) to biamp a pair of Magneplanars 3.3R. Then I switched to Magneplanars 3.6R. However, due to the extremely low WAF of the Maggies, I acquired a new  pair of Silverline Sonata II directly from Alan Yun's Silverline factory, as there are no dealers in Puerto Rico. As soon as I heard the new speakers I was astonished at the soundstage, musicality, etc. So much that I have not thought about the Maggies anymore.

Yesterday I was at home due to a mild case of indigestion that prevented me from going to work (I am a University professor and my colleagues told me that the students were extremely happy, as they thought that a respite from "Wotan" was OK). So I decided to listen to several CDs. On hand was Gustav Mahler's 6th. Symphony in a minor, with Maurice Abravanel conducting the Utah Symphony Orchestra. This is a Vanguard Classics Ultra Analog production, using 20-bit SBM, a Sony proprietary analog to digital conversion system. I have the complete Mahler cycle on this label (and nine or ten additional cycles by other conductors/labels, besides many single symphony editions).

The record is fantastic!! There is a huge amount of information and very well recorded. The soundstage is huge (HUGE!!!). Dynamics are enormous, so much so that care is needed or you may blow a speaker.

The Stratos/Silverline combiantion is just fantastic!!! Detail, air and more air, musicality, soundstage, spatial cues by thousands, dynamics are frighteningly real, and not a hint of strain.

The Stratoses handled everything with aplomb while remaining cool (in all senses of the word). This is truly a marriage made in heaven!!!

BTW, try the Seventh Symphony as well.

djbnh

Hoy Stratos
« Reply #1 on: 5 Mar 2004, 01:41 am »
Sounds like that review could be posted on http://www.audioreview.com.  :D