Dedicated circuit in off the grid house

mikeeastman

Dedicated circuit in off the grid house
« on: 11 Oct 2010, 02:15 pm »
I live in an off the grid house which means I make my own a/c, I'm about to redo my system and am going to add a dedicated circuit for my a/c gear and would like to isolate it from the rest of the house, to eliminate any feed back from appliances or noisy circuits ( 20 plus yrs old house).How would I go about doing this? Also I was thinking about removing the plugs from the power cords of my a/c gear and hard wiring  them in J box, should I wire nut them or would it be better to solider them using silver solider? I'm relatively new to this so any help on this or any other suggestion would be appreciated,

jtwrace

• www.theintellectualpeoplepodcast.com
    • TIPP YouTube Channel
Re: Dedicated circuit in off the grid house
« Reply #1 on: 11 Oct 2010, 02:30 pm »
What do you use to make your own power?  Solar?

Speedskater

• Kevin
« Reply #2 on: 11 Oct 2010, 05:58 pm »
Are you restricted by electrical codes (like the NEC) or by building codes?

mikeeastman

« Reply #3 on: 11 Oct 2010, 07:43 pm »
I have 1800 watts at 24V of solar panels and the power is stored in a 1350 amp hr battery bank. I try to follow NEC codes, so ideally all grounds and neutrals would be bonded. But of course I live in the sticks and don't have to deal with inspectors. I was hoping that I could use some kind of isolating transformer or something similar to isolate the ground and neutral

dBe

• Industry Participant
    • PI audio group, LLC
« Reply #4 on: 12 Oct 2010, 03:17 pm »
I have 1800 watts at 24V of solar panels and the power is stored in a 1350 amp hr battery bank. I try to follow NEC codes, so ideally all grounds and neutrals would be bonded. But of course I live in the sticks and don't have to deal with inspectors. I was hoping that I could use some kind of isolating transformer or something similar to isolate the ground and neutral