BP6 question for everyone

jaxwired

BP6 question for everyone
« on: 8 Sep 2010, 05:16 pm »
I'm fairly new to Bryston (less than a year now), and I've got a question as I'm wondering if there's something amiss with my BP6.  Compared to my old pre/amp combo, I have to turn up my BP6 way more to get serious volume levels.  Something like Matthew Sweet's "Girlfriend" I will turn all the way to 12 o'clock before I'm really rockin. This would have been an unthinkable volume position on pretty much any equipment I've owned previously.   My amp is a 4bsst2.  The lights on the amp never indicate clipping.

Does this sound normal?  Does this make sense to other owners?  I noticed a few weeks back some owners of the BP26 complaining about the opposite problem. That's what started me wondering...

Oh, one more piece of info.  My speakers are semi ineffecient at 85db.  Dynaudio Contours...

James Tanner

• Facilitator
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: BP6 question for everyone
« Reply #1 on: 8 Sep 2010, 05:18 pm »
Hi,

Do you have the sensitivity setting on the back of the amp at 1 volt or 2 volts?

james

jaxwired

« Reply #2 on: 8 Sep 2010, 06:14 pm »
Hi James,

I'm pretty sure I'm using the 2 volt setting which I believe is the one recommended for RCA cables (which I'm obviously using). 

The 12 o'clock setting on the "Girlfriend" CD is very loud, but not ear piercing or anything.  I can happily listen to it.  And that particular CD is slightly quieter than most of the CD's I buy that have been produced in the last few years.  However, even something like the new Norah Jones CD which is newly produced I will turn it up to about 11 o'clock before it's loud. 

It's probably working normally, but I wanted to see if this sounds way out of whack to anyone...

James Tanner

• Facilitator
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
« Reply #3 on: 8 Sep 2010, 06:17 pm »
Hi James,