New SongTower/SongCenter owner--Amp Question

putz

New SongTower/SongCenter owner--Amp Question
« on: 7 Sep 2010, 04:27 am »
Recently purchased used SongCenter and SongTowers with OW tweeters in 2 separate transactions. I've been eyeing them for the last 2 years but budget constraints precluded purchasing new ones. Would like to eventually get SongSurrounds but other audio purchases take precedence. I'll post some pictures of the Songs shortly. 

I listen to 2 channel and 7.1 HT. I'm powering with a Yamaha RXV1800 AVR and an old SAE power amp for the 2 fronts. I'd like to keep the Yamaha and replace the SAE with a 5 or 7 channel amp, most probably used. I've been looking at the following amps in the $500-1,000 range:

Nad T975
Outlaw 7125
Parasound 5125
Emotiva UPA7
Other possibilities include Rotel, Sherbourn and B&K

I was hoping I could get some feedback from other SongTower HT users on what they are using and if you have familiarity with any of these products and wanted to comment on them.

I'm in NJ, if anyone has comparable equipment to audition or would like to hear my setup.

jd3

Re: New SongTower/SongCenter owner--Amp Question
« Reply #1 on: 7 Sep 2010, 09:39 am »
Welcome!  I currently use an Outlaw 7500 with my ST's, but have used both Outlaw's 7125 and 7075 amps. All are a good compromise (depending on your room size and power requirements) for combo 2 channel/HT use, but for strictly 2 channel use I'd look for something better.  Good luck on your quest and enjoy those ST's!

divisionbell77

« Reply #2 on: 7 Sep 2010, 10:31 am »
of those that you listed, i would go for the Parasound.

billmcc

« Reply #3 on: 7 Sep 2010, 01:02 pm »
I have the STs and SongCenter and I'm using a Boston Acoustics A7200 which is a Sherwood Newcastle A-965 clone. I am quite happy with the A7200 and having had many amps in my system is among my favorite. I would think all of the amps you have listed are great choices. I would also pick the Parasound and the Outlaw as well.