EMU 0404-USB DAC

nwboater

EMU 0404-USB DAC
« on: 20 Aug 2010, 03:58 am »
In the $175 Class D Amp thread I mentioned that I had been using the 0404USB DAC and 'hottuner' asked if I could give more information on it. I thought it was OT to discuss it there, thus this new thread here.

I trust that this DAC at $200-250 will qualify as 'Cheap & Cheerful'. Since some feels it's performance equals DAC's 5 times it's price and up I thought it should be appropriate here.

What hottuner wrote: "I'd be interested in hearing more about your adventures along these lines. Looked up the EMU DAC and yes it does look interesting, certainly cheap and cheerful! Amazing really if the mic and line level pre's are as good as the general comment out there. Might be a good way to rip vinyl!
Dave"

I have no experience ripping vynl, but do know that RIAA compensation is required. This is typically done in a 'phono' preamp at the same time that the gain is boosted from the cartridges low level to a line level signal. I believe the compensation can also be done in some computer programs. I also don't have any experience using the mic inputs other than using a calibrated mic in conjunction with the REW software for subwoofer response testing.

The 0404USB was my first DAC. I was very concerned about SQ since our Klipschorns are very revealing speakers. I have been very pleasantly suprised! I have been using it with its USB port connected to our HTPC which gets all its media over the network from our Windows Home Server Computer. This whole setup has been quite an education, a lot of fun, and at moments quite frustrating! But it has all been very worthwhile.

Not sure if it's appropriate to mention other forums here, (mods please delete or advise me it not), but there are a bunch of threads on the 'headfi' forum. There is also a huge thread on Computer Audiophile about it. Something about ".....on a Beer Budget".

Let me know if you have any questions.

Rod

Mariusz

Re: EMU 0404-USB DAC