Need help setting up computer audio!

Zerogravity

Need help setting up computer audio!
« on: 31 Jul 2010, 02:03 pm »
Hello: I am new to this and my knowledge is very limited. I was all set to get a pair of Danny's N3s for the family room where my equipment is. Marantz AVR, Pany blue Ray player, cable box and display. I have in wall speakers and they sound good for movies, but I wanted a little more performance for music and purchased a decent bookshelf. My wife did not want the speakers in the room anylonger. Despite much resistance, I gave in ( we know who wears the pants in my clan). I connected my bookshelf speakers and subwoofer to my computer using the mic outputs? I have 2 "T" amps that are in mono mode connected each speaker and of course my subwoofer is powered and is connected to the front mic out on my computer. The sound is O.K. But not like it was with my AVR since I had my speakers bi-amped with the B&G neo3 going to the "T"amp and the Marantz amp going to the Accuton 6.5 woofer.
  I have a Intergrated HD 7.1 soundcard on the computer, it is a Velocity Micro that runs very quiet. The connections on the computer are USB 2.0, FireWire and 1/8 mic. I do not see a digital coaxial. I had my eye on a Beresford DAC, but will do only 16bit via USB? Do I need a seperate sound card with coaxial connection? I know a DAC will convert digital back to analog, but it has me wondering if I am ouputting digital to begin with, the way I have my speakers set-up. Any ideas to what is best for my set-up ? I have read about internal sound cards such a M-Audio, E-MU 0404, ASUS Xonar essence? There so many different answers it very confusing. Thanks 

Zerogravity

Re: Need help setting up computer audio!
« Reply #1 on: 31 Jul 2010, 07:26 pm »
I guess this isnt the best way for listening to audio? I just want to use the computer for Downloaded music, CDs and perhaps internet radio! I guess a soundcard with digital coaxial and a Beresford DAC would be a good starting point?