Question on Power Tubes for SP3

dmac67

Question on Power Tubes for SP3
« on: 29 Jul 2010, 07:50 pm »
Is the Tung Sol 5881 reissue an appropriate power tube for use in an Onix SP3?  I have heard not to use them in an amp with a solid state rectifier - I have some idea that the SP3 has a solid state rectifier- since there are no rectifier tubes.  Thanks for any help - I am new to tubes.

HAL

• Industry Contributor
Re: Question on Power Tubes for SP3
« Reply #1 on: 29 Jul 2010, 08:24 pm »
I used the Tung Sol 5881 reissues in my SP3MKII with good results.  It does have solid state rectification for the power supplies.   Make sure they are a matched quad of tubes.

Would recommend turning the bias all they way down for all four tubes when replacing them so that you can set the bias on the new tubes without stressing them at first use.

woofersus

• Industry Participant
  • Authorized Dealer: Melody & Angel City Audio
    • East Street Audio
« Reply #2 on: 29 Jul 2010, 11:48 pm »
I would also recommend taking a look at Valve Art 350b tubes for the SP3.  I was quite pleased with them when I had an SP3.

Tim Evans
East Street Audio
Onix, Melody, & ACA
« Last Edit: 14 Nov 2010, 12:33 am by woofersus »

dmac67

« Reply #3 on: 29 Jul 2010, 11:54 pm »
Thanks for both of y'alls replies.  I am setting up a second system based around the SP3.  If I use the Valve Art 350b's, at what value  do I set the bias?  Will they fit in the sockets on the amp?  Will I be able to use the cover (I have a toddler and an inquizative 6 year old)?  Thanks for helping and providing input - like I said, I am new to tubes.

bunnyma357

« Reply #4 on: 30 Jul 2010, 04:14 am »