When and how to bridge amp channels?

gkinberg

When and how to bridge amp channels?
« on: 12 Jun 2010, 06:41 am »
I intend to use the same amp for my front three channels in my eventual home theater set up. There seems to be a greater selection of five channel amps than three channel amps. So how does one determine if amp channels can be bridged and then, what is the process of bridging these channels? Obviously, I’m somewhat new to this stuff; maybe all multi-channel amps are bridgeable. Thanks for any helpful comments.

Garth

FullRangeMan

• Volunteer
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
Re: When and how to bridge amp channels?
« Reply #1 on: 12 Jun 2010, 10:09 pm »
Hi,
Not all amps are bridgeable. Some can be bridgeable at output post terminals, others amps are not designed to be bridgeable.
I can asure you the Musical Fidelity Electra3 integrated from 90years is not bridgeable, as I well remember I hear a PUTZ noise on the speakers and lost a IRF output device.
The Owner Manual of the amp must inform you if the amp is bridgeable or you can ask by email this info to the manufacturer(this is a plain, basic info, not secret).
Good Luck, Gustavo

FullRangeMan

• Volunteer
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
« Reply #2 on: 12 Jun 2010, 10:33 pm »
what is the process of bridging these channels? Obviously,
You can bridge a Stereo amp in series or parallel for one channel performance, but before better read the Owner Manual looking for what type of bridge the maker recommend.
Top pro-audio Stereo amps as Bryston can be bridgeable easily to mono use.
Gustavo

FullRangeMan

• Volunteer
« Reply #3 on: 12 Jun 2010, 10:43 pm »
Another tip:   Some amps have a diagram near the output posts showing you how to connect it.

gkinberg

« Reply #4 on: 13 Jun 2010, 05:04 am »
Fullrangeman,