Frequency Response(FR) of Selah Speakers

ttan98

Frequency Response(FR) of Selah Speakers
« on: 6 May 2010, 04:27 am »
Rick,

I am a casual visitor to your audio circle and I notice you have designed a number of beautifully made speakers and I am sure all of them sound very good.

I am a novice speaker designer and I notice the FR of most of your speakers are not really ruler flat. I further notice that there is dip around 2.5kHz and starts rising again to reach the same level around 3.5kHz and rise 1-2dB above the midband frequencies. This phenomena occurs in the Verita model and occur in somewhat similar pattern in one or 2 other speakers designed by you, eg S6. Furthermore I also notice the Dynaudio Excite X12(very well received by a few reviewers) has a similar dip around 2kHz.

My question is this a mere coincident in design or on purpose ie you design a 2kHz dip because human is sensitive around that region. If it is on purpose please explain why you do that. This is my observation and nothing more than just that.

Thanks for your time.

Rick Craig

• Industry Participant
  • Selah Audio
    • http://www.selahaudio.com
Re: Frequency Response(FR) of Selah Speakers
« Reply #1 on: 7 May 2010, 06:24 pm »
Rick,

I am a casual visitor to your audio circle and I notice you have designed a number of beautifully made speakers and I am sure all of them sound very good.

I am a novice speaker designer and I notice the FR of most of your speakers are not really ruler flat. I further notice that there is dip around 2.5kHz and starts rising again to reach the same level around 3.5kHz and rise 1-2dB above the midband frequencies. This phenomena occurs in the Verita model and occur in somewhat similar pattern in one or 2 other speakers designed by you, eg S6. Furthermore I also notice the Dynaudio Excite X12(very well received by a few reviewers) has a similar dip around 2kHz.