Begineer's questions on open-baffle / bass trade-off

zydeco

Another complete novice to speaker building / open-baffle after some advice. I've just finished reading a bunch of articles on open-baffle and am, literally, baffled. The idea of a full-range driver coupled to 1 or 2 woofers per side is attractive but it seems as though there are issues associated with matching bass performance. Two quick questions:

• It seems as though most designs involve high-pass to full-range driver and low-pass to woofers. Why is this model preferred over that in which the full-range driver is run full-range and a low-pass to woofers is just used to augment bass?
  • If I understand, then a pair of woofers will increase the effective sensitivity (although I'm not sure if this is by 3 or 6db). This model is used with pairs of Eminence Alpha 15 woofers. Why not go for, say, 4 x full-range drivers (e.g., B200) are used to get even higher efficiency into the woofers?

Any and all advice would be appreciated. As would a nudge towards simple, high-efficiency, open-baffle design

Regards
Zydeco
[/list]

seem

mcgsxr

Re: Begineer's questions on open-baffle / bass trade-off
« Reply #1 on: 2 Mar 2010, 02:58 pm »
Some good questions there, and I will answer the ones I think I can take a crack at.

Most people (myself included) Xover the full ranger, to take the bass stress off that driver.  Many full rangers produce more mid and high magic, when not asked to reproduce (or try to reproduce) low bass.

For those of us biamping, the need for more than 1 bass driver per panel is, as I understand it, simply a choice.  I am very happy with the performance of my b200 run 100Hz and up, and the MAW12 woofers down from there.

For those playing around with passive Xover, and dealing with high efficiency full rangers, the use of multiple woofers per panel is usually to bring the efficiency of the woofers closer to that of the full ranger, as you suggest.