OK..Whats a DAC??

eclein

• Volunteer
  • ..we walk the plank with our eyes wide open!-Gotye
OK..Whats a DAC??
« on: 26 Jan 2010, 02:07 am »
I'm thinking its a Digital Audio Converter? Like something I would put between my laptop and my AV receiver that converts digital audio from like itunes and makes the signal or file a better quality is that correct?? I currently have all my music in itunes format on my VAIO laptop and can output it via HDMI to my SONY STR-DH800 AV Receiver and play it, I could also use the headphone output from the laptop and take that into my receiver...whats the best way of those 2 choices?? Should I invest in a Sounblaster X-FI sound card for my express card slot?? I'm new to all this and need some direction. Thanks in advance!!!

ted_b

• Volunteer
  • "we're all bozos on this bus" F.T.
Re: OK..Whats a DAC??
« Reply #1 on: 26 Jan 2010, 03:17 am »
A DAC (digital-to-analog converter) is:
 a) the part of the cd player that converts digital signals on the disc to analog signals that come out the rca plugs on the back
 b) an essential audio part of any DVD player, surround processor or av receiver
 c) a stand-alone box that has digital inputs and analog (and sometimes digital) outputs.
 d) all of the above