Any Success with 15' USB Cable?

viggen

Any Success with 15' USB Cable?
« on: 25 Jan 2010, 06:04 pm »
Well, I just wanted to hear if anybody else has experience with this as, to my surprise, I am successfully connecting PC to DAC with a 15' USB cable. 

I've read that you shouldn't go over 2m. 

My previous cable was a 2m Belkin Gold, and I think I prefer the 15ft (gold plated) Monoprice USB cable.  Belkin sounds a bit thin in comparison.

Just wondering whether I am a myth buster or an outlier.

ebag4

Re: Any Success with 15' USB Cable?
« Reply #1 on: 25 Jan 2010, 06:08 pm »
I have only tried the one 5 meter USB (Belkin Gold) so I can't offer any cable comparisons, but I never had any issue with it working properly.

Best,
Ed

mshan

« Reply #2 on: 25 Jan 2010, 06:10 pm »
I thought usb spec was maximum of about 15 ft. unless you have an active repeater added (?)

hi5harry

« Reply #3 on: 25 Jan 2010, 06:16 pm »
I have been using a 15 foot usb cable for a couple years now and it works great!

viggen

« Reply #4 on: 25 Jan 2010, 06:17 pm »
Yup, USB spec is 15ft (5m).  I did double check the stats before purchasing the cable.

Just read on forums here and there that you shouldn't use cable longer than 2m.  I believe the reason for this is because most DACs do not have data buffer unlike other USB device.

I guess I am neither an outlier nor a myth buster!

strider

« Reply #5 on: 26 Jan 2010, 02:24 pm »
I'm using a 15 footer as well. No issues per se, but I've always wondered if its length was detrimental in any way. I'll check out the Monoprice cable.

Scott F.

« Reply #6 on: 26 Jan 2010, 03:09 pm »
I've been using a 5m USB cable since the USB DACs/SPDIF converters hit the market. No issues whatsoever. That isn't to say that a shorter cable might not sound different but the 5m cable works like a champ (including my 5m DIY cable).

jrebman

« Reply #7 on: 29 Jan 2010, 03:08 am »