R-Core transformer. Worth it?

SET Man

R-Core transformer. Worth it?
« on: 25 Jan 2010, 05:30 am »
Hey!

I'm in process of choosing a transformer and I can't make up my mind of which to buy.... 0-9V - 0-9V about 2A R-Core or Toroidal? :scratch:

So, just drop by here to get some opinion on this. Is there a big advantage in R-Core?

I could get the toroidal of which will be about $20-25 cheaper with higher VA than the R-Core but if the R-Core is better than I'm willing to go for it.

Anyone here have experience with both type?

Take care,
Buddy :thumb:

PS

If anyone know a good source for transformers of both type please let me know. :D

JoshK

Re: R-Core transformer. Worth it?
« Reply #1 on: 25 Jan 2010, 02:02 pm »
R-cores have some theoretical advantages.  I am not experienced enough to know if it translates to practical differences.  I have bought some r-cores and my limited experience says they do not hum or get hot (could be I am not pushing them).

R-cores theoretically offer less capactive coupling between primary and secondary (less noise getting through) than toroids.  Offer better efficiency than EI cores.  Sort of most of the advantages of both without the penalties of both.

Niteshade

• Tubes: Audio's glow plug. Get turbocharged!
    • Niteshade Audio
« Reply #2 on: 25 Jan 2010, 02:16 pm »
The person to ask is Boris of Vista Audio. He's the transformer guru.  :D

Audiovista

• Industry Contributor
    • Vista-Audio
« Reply #3 on: 25 Jan 2010, 03:29 pm »
Haha, not sure about the guru thing (but thanks Blair!) - I do agree with Josh. However, I would not pay more than 10-15% premium for R cores. The power level Buddy needs seems too low for theory to translate into significant sonic advantage.

rollo

• Industry Participant
  • Rollo Audio Consulting -
« Reply #4 on: 25 Jan 2010, 04:16 pm »