Please forgive my absence

Roger A. Modjeski

Please forgive my absence
« on: 15 Jan 2010, 09:37 pm »
Hi,

The last half of 2009 has been a busy one for me. Both my parents died this summer of natural causes. They had a good life together and almost made it to 93 years. The Modjeski clan has good long life genes and I am excellent health with the full expectation of 100+ years. I went back to Virginia to settle up some affairs and get a few things out of the house I grew up in. There I found a "Quarter Century of Service" pin given to my grandad for his years at Brunswick. Over the years I have been collecting information from my dad on his dad's work there. He told me that his dad brought home defective or out of catalog 78's for target practice in the basement of their home.

I have been collecting Brunswick phonographs and records for many years and hope to write a book on their work in the early days of recording. Although known primarily for their bowling equipment and beautifully carved pool tables, they were an important force in both pre-electric recording and playback and the electrical systems that followed. If you are a student of early jazz, as I am, you will note that they were the early label for Billie Holiday and many others. (Check your CD booklets for BR numbers )They had exclusive contracts and made known many early jazz artists, Al Jolson was under exclusive contract for example. I have a 1925 catalog of their recordings that numbers in the tens of thousands. Brunswick eventually sold their recording business to Decca.