Ready to build some speakers -- advice please

mms3

Ready to build some speakers -- advice please
« on: 12 Jan 2010, 02:20 am »
I've sold my old speakers, and I'm ready to start building some new ones.  Now I'm just trying to decide what to do first.  This will be my first attempt at DIY.  I'm not experienced with woodworking, but I think I can get some help from friends/family.

I bought a used pair of x-omni's to use as "temporary" speakers while I work on everything else.  At first, my plan was to use N3's as surrounds, but now having heard the x-omni's, I may just use those if it would work out.  I'm really impressed with them....I won't use the cliche that I'm hearing things I've never heard before, but I am hearing things in a way that I've never heard before....very cool.  So, that leads to my first question.

Would it be ok to put the x-omni's at the back corners of my sofa?  In order to get them far enough away from the rear wall, that's what I'd have to do.  Will it be a problem to have them that close to me?  I read on the A/V-O page, that they can be turned with the tweeter away from the listener, so that might be an option.  Any thoughts?  If this will present problems, I'll just go with the N3's next to the rear wall with the transmission line turned to the front.

My other concern is if I should build one of the servo sub's or not.  The reason I'm hesitant on this, is that I ultimately want to have a pair of LS-6's (or LS-4's???) as mains.  With the LS-6's, it sounds like they play low enough that a sub isn't necessary.  What about LS-4's?  Will these ultimately be offered as a kit?  If so, how low will they play?  In either case, the line source option will take me some time (build time and financial time).  So, it might be nice to have a good sub until then.  At the same time it will take me that much longer to save up for and build the LS's....

Alright, I've written enough....what do you guys think?  Thanks in advance.

corndog71