Something's wrong with my DAC. . . . Could it be the tubes?

Dangerman

I am a tube newbie and need some help.  Only one component in my system has tubes--my Lite DAC 60 (purchased from GR Research w/mods).  I've had it for about 3 years, and it is on for several hours a day.  I recently noticed that my system sounded thin and out of balance.  Both channels still have sound, but one has much lower volume and lots of hiss.  I did an A/B comparison of the DAC and my receiver's on-board DAC, and it was obvious that the problem is coming from my DAC.

I switched out all the cables, but the problem persists.  Then I pulled the tubes and reversed them.  Low and behold, the problem is still there, but now in the other channel.  So, I know it is the DAC, and I know that the problem is with one of the tubes.

Here's the questions:
1.  Does this description sound like one of the tubes is dead?

2.  When a tube goes bad, will the sound stop, or degrade over time? Will the tube still glow?

3.  How do I figure out what tubes I need to replace my old ones?

Thanks for the help.

JerryM

• Where's The Bar?
Re: Something's wrong with my DAC. . . . Could it be the tubes?
« Reply #1 on: 19 Dec 2009, 01:29 am »
I am a tube newbie and need some help.  Only one component in my system has tubes--my Lite DAC 60 (purchased from GR Research w/mods).  I've had it for about 3 years, and it is on for several hours a day.  I recently noticed that my system sounded thin and out of balance.  Both channels still have sound, but one has much lower volume and lots of hiss.  I did an A/B comparison of the DAC and my receiver's on-board DAC, and it was obvious that the problem is coming from my DAC.

I switched out all the cables, but the problem persists.  Then I pulled the tubes and reversed them.  Low and behold, the problem is still there, but now in the other channel.  So, I know it is the DAC, and I know that the problem is with one of the tubes.

Here's the questions: