Vintage Tung Sol 6SN7 NOS test measurements

silverlight

Vintage Tung Sol 6SN7 NOS test measurements
« on: 16 Oct 2009, 07:35 pm »
Hey guys - I'm fairly new to the tube world, but my ears are LOVING it!  I have a set in front of me of Tung Sol 6SN7 NOS tubes (black oval plate).  So what I was curious about was what typical measurements would tubes of this vintage have on a tester (or testers).
Any portable-sized relatively comprehensive testers available for sale that anyone knows of that would adequately heat / run voltage through and provide reliable measurements (for testing these and others I'm looking at)?  Have seen some older testers around on the 'net but would need a recommendation.  Short of that, anyone know of a potential dealer or individual that can test tubes in the NY area?

Here's a photo of one of them:

SET Man

Re: Vintage Tung Sol 6SN7 NOS test measurements
« Reply #1 on: 16 Oct 2009, 10:00 pm »
Hey!

Well, welcome to the world of sound in the bottle. :D

Anyway, as for tube testers. They can be pricey especially if you want to only to test one or two type of tubes once in a while. Weather if that is worth it or not is up to you.

But of course could you get by with a little help from your fellow audiophile friends. :D

I'm in Queens, NYC. I do have a Hickok 6000 of which I use primary to check for bad tube before I put them in my system. It can do the 6SN7 also. If you are near by you are welcome to stop by with your tube. Although I don't know when I will have time.

Another NYAR member that might be able to help you is Paul/ltr317... he got couple of tube testers :D

Take care,
Buddy :thumb:

JohnR

« Reply #2 on: 17 Oct 2009, 07:42 am »
I think we had a thread on tube testers a little while ago. One of the things to bear in mind is that your typical tube tester is really just a finger in the wind. The measured number is a bit like a THD full-power at 1kHz spec - it tells you something, but by no means everything.

silverlight