Tube Dampers - What Do They Do?

TJHUB

Tube Dampers - What Do They Do?
« on: 7 Oct 2009, 01:58 am »
I'm new to tubes and I've been posting little bits of my figuring these complicated things out on this forum.  In my searches for information regarding tubes and their sonics, I've come across tube damper threads and I became curious.  I ended up ordering a UltraSonic Rx from Herbie's Audio.

My only piece of tubed gear is my Music Hall 25.2 DAC with a 6922 variant.  I've rolled a few tubes through the DAC and recently settled on a Mazda 7308 that I find near perfect for what I had as my ultimate goal for sound.  I really couldn't be happier (well until I get to hear something better anyway).

I've had enough time with my new Mazda tube in my DAC to get very familiar with the sound on my favorite tracks.  So with the family out of the house this evening, I figured I'd give the tube damper a try.

The first thing I did was feel the DAC's chassis while playing music at a normal level of about 80-85db.  I was surprised to feel the level of vibrations that I did.  I have a heavy credenza style entertainment center with the feet removed so that the main bottom board is sitting right on my carpet.  Then this is loaded down with a couple hundred pounds of audio gear.  The DAC sits on this bottom board on the left side all by itself. 

So this is where I'd like to hear some feedback from you more experienced and knowledgeable types.  I didn't expect to hear a difference, but I really think I do.  I listened without the damper, with it again, removed it, and put it back on.  Each time it was on, the sound changed, but I don't want to call it "better".  The sound overall seems to get darker.  Not darker like warm sounding without good high end extension, it's more like a decrease in ambiance or air.  It's like the sound is not as open and free flowing; not as lifelike.  I'd say the overall decay time on instruments sounds less.  I also think the bass is somewhat reduced.