DBX encoded vinyl

Packfill

DBX encoded vinyl
« on: 21 Jul 2009, 08:14 pm »
I ordered an LP online and discovered upon receiving it that it was DBX encoded.
1.  If I play it back on my system without decoder, will it be compressed?
2.  Any inexpensive way to get it to play the way its supposed to.  ie. cheap but effective decoders?

(I didn't pay a lot.  I'm prepared to give it away, so this is more for my education.)

bunnyma357

Re: DBX encoded vinyl
« Reply #1 on: 21 Jul 2009, 08:43 pm »
From a brief check it looks like the LP is compressed and will sound bad without a decoder. According to Wikipedia the compression/expansion used for LP's was dBx Type II, I couldn't find any of the LP decoders but there seem to be quite a few of the Type II encoder/decoders used with tape decks on eBay, so you could bid on one of those and just use the decode side. It seems like it should work, but I have no personal experience with dBx LPs.

http://shop.ebay.com/items/__dbx-type?_dmpt=Vintage_Electronics_R2&_trksid=p3286.c0.m301

The complaint with dBX was that you could hear "breathing" or "pumping" as the background level became louder and quieter, to some people this was really annoying, others weren't bothered by it.

Jim C

S Clark

• a riot is the language of the unheard- Dr. King
« Reply #2 on: 22 Jul 2009, 02:10 am »
You must have a dbx decoder to play back, and it sounds very compressed and noisy without one.  They come up on ebay regularly.  I have the DBX 128 which is a decoder + compression/expansion features.  I've been putting together a decent little collection of DBX encoded disc.  If you decide not to mess with it, and it's a disc I don't have, I'd probably take it off your hands for whatever you paid for it.

Scott
« Last Edit: 22 Jul 2009, 05:27 am by S Clark »

bpape

• Industry Participant
  • I am serious and don't call my Shirley
    • Sensible Sound Solutions
« Reply #3 on: 22 Jul 2009, 03:22 am »