Cartridge for Technics 1200 MkII & Thorens TD160 MkI?

launche

• ...on being an audiophile...no.
After some reading about the good times vinyl listeners are having I decided to venture into vinyl playback on a small scale.  I've been on the fence about this for about a year, concerned about the work required and the amount needed to have a competent vinyl playback system.  Hearing that one needs $5k invested to hear the magic of vinyl always kept me on the sideline along with the fact that I know very very little about vinyl playback.  I was going to buy one of those really nice belt drives and phono's and jump in fairly high but decided to go less expensive just in case I didn't take to it.  So I am learning as I go and going slowly.

I've been trying to read about turntable setup and cartridge alignment and had to take a break as it's really involved and there are many different approaches and techniques etc...  I'm still learning the parts of the turntable, cartridge and so on and how they all related to one another.  I can easily see why many just don't bother, it seems to be a fair amount of work.  I do like playing records and the general sound and so on and want to have it as a form of music playback. 

I am looking for an inexpensive cartridge that can be used with both tables.  I intend to buy two of them and do some light comparsions and get a better feel for both tables.  I don't want something to entry level where I would be eager to move up because it offers little beyond a basic presentation.  I don't have a firm price as I realize a relative bargain may arise and encourage me to spend a bit more.  But I would say no more than $500 total but the cheaper the better as I see there are also various accessories I need to get as well.