Gold Lion KT-88 bias value

decal

Gold Lion KT-88 bias value
« on: 29 May 2009, 03:52 pm »
I have a Rogue Audio Tempest II Magnum integrated that came with EH KT-88
power tubes. I just ordered a matched quad of Gold Lion KT-88's and was wondering if the bias should be set the same as the EH's. I'm new to tubed equipment and am now hooked !!!!!   Thanks.

JoshK

Re: Gold Lion KT-88 bias value
« Reply #1 on: 29 May 2009, 03:55 pm »
There is no reason why these tubes should not be biased the same.  They are intented to be equivalents.

Pez

« Reply #2 on: 29 May 2009, 05:30 pm »
Yeah for a straight across exchange for Kt88's to other KT88's you want to adjust them to bias the same.

Starchild

• Free your mind and your behind will follow!
« Reply #3 on: 2 Jun 2009, 11:45 am »
It's my understanding that you should bias the tube every time one is replaced; especially if it's a different brand.  Below are a couple of links on the matter for your consideration:

http://www.tubedepot.com/whisbipo.html

http://www.vac-amps.com/owning_tubes.html

Happy listening, peace out and all that Trekkie stuff!!

Later,

Mike

boycephoto

« Reply #4 on: 3 Jun 2009, 07:53 pm »
I would be interested in your comments after you replace the tubes.  Was it a good choice to go with the Genalex re-issue KT88's?  How are they different than the EH?

Thanks
Dave
« Last Edit: 21 Apr 2010, 02:17 am by boycephoto »

decal

« Reply #5 on: 4 Jun 2009, 01:30 pm »
Dave,