Chassis Virgin needs help with 24v Aikido

Abby356

Chassis Virgin needs help with 24v Aikido
« on: 9 Apr 2009, 04:16 pm »
I've been wading through previous threads in an attempt to gain the info I need but I'm new to the DIY electronics thing and am still confused. My project is a 24v Aikido and I've got the board built/populated and am now trying to wire it all up. The power supply is a 24v Medical SMPS from Mouser and uses the typical 2.5 mm DC power chassis jack to connect with the pre with just a positive and a neutral leg. My questions revolve around grounding. I know its a sensitive topic (in more ways than one) and am looking for some basic guidance. From previous posts it appears as though i should be isolating the various rca jacks and the DC chassis power jack from the chassis ? and should I leave the board "floating" and not use the ground. ? If so how exactly do i ensure that the various jacks are isolated form the chassis ? It appears to me that the two plastic washers included with the rca's will not suffice to prevent the body of the jack from contacting the chassis. Also the DC jack I have is solid metal and by design will contact the chassis. Thanks for your patience and time folks.

Sincerely, Daniel.

P.s. I've tried to attach a picture but i couldn't figure that out either.

TomS

Re: Chassis Virgin needs help with 24v Aikido
« Reply #1 on: 9 Apr 2009, 04:48 pm »
Daniel,

Congrats on putting the Aikido together.  You'll be very happy with the results.  I actually have the high voltage version, but can break down some of your questions buried in that post.  You are right, though, you'll get a lot of opinions on this, so I'll start it off.

Think about at least 3 common situations regarding "grounding":
- Safety or chassis ground.  Absolutely necessary where there are significant internal voltages and a metal chassis or exposed components to which humans could possibly be exposed.