First post!

math-geek

First post!
« on: 2 Mar 2009, 02:03 am »
Hello out their, I am new to the Bryston owners family.  I bought a Bryston 2B (circa 1985) off from e-bay a month ago. 

I am a college student at Western Michigan University (electrical engineering) so funds sort of limit what kind of equipment that I may buy.  My current set up consists of a PS Audio Model 4.6 preamp, the Bryston 2B and finally the icing on the cake, a pair of Dynaudio Contour 1.3 MkII loudspeakers.  I have around $600 total into this outfit if you can believe that.  I think that this would probably cost me around $5k to buy all of this brand new.! My friends stop over and listen to my stereo and look for the hidden subwoofer because they cannot believe that such a small set of speakers make this much music.

The reality is that it is just a well matched system.  I am hoping to at some point upgrade to a Bryston 4B or 4B st (3Bst for that matter) in the future, seeing how these Dynaudios are a fairly difficult load to drive.  Truth be told though for the small apartment that I currently live in the 2B is astounding.  It has the biggest 60 watts that I have ever heard.  Before this amplifier came along I was using a Yamaha receiver that supposedly produced 100 wpc.  No comparison!  This Bryston sounds sooooo much better and stronger.

Thanks for letting me ramble on for a while on this site.  I have read about some of your systems and I will have to wait quite some time before I am in the position to have some of that equipment, but for now I have a simple system that is just a knockout.  This will bring me smiles years down the road with fond memories.

Talk to you later. Earl Y.

mvwhiting_83

• Ask me speaker related questions!
    • PMC Speakers
Re: First post!
« Reply #1 on: 2 Mar 2009, 05:48 am »
Welcome Earl!

James Tanner

• Facilitator
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
« Reply #2 on: 2 Mar 2009, 03:49 pm »
Hi Earl,