Headphone socket on the BP26

nobel

Headphone socket on the BP26
« on: 13 Jan 2009, 12:40 am »

Hi

I brought a decent pair of headphones to use with the BP26 but it seems that they cannot be driven as the sound is ponderous. When i use a cheap pair then there seems to be more life. Do I need to purchase a headphone amp to get satisfactory results

mbakes

Re: Headphone socket on the BP26
« Reply #1 on: 13 Jan 2009, 01:11 am »
I have no experience with the headphone out of this preamp, however, typically the headphone out of a component like this is not optimized for headphone use (there are some integrated amps and preamps that make excellent headphone amps).  The manual states that for optimal use you should use headphones that are more than 50 ohms.  Which headphones are you using that do not sound right?  While I prefer speakers, I am into headphone audio as well.  I've found that to get the best out of a good pair of headphones a dedicated headphone amp is best.

mpaulsen

« Reply #2 on: 13 Jan 2009, 02:00 am »
mbakes makes a good point about the impedance of your headphones. The headphone output on the BP26 may not put out enough current for your particular headphones.

I've used the headphone output on my B100 with my Sennheiser HD600(300 Ohm) and it sounded fine although not as good as my dedicated headphone amp.
I haven't tried my Grados(32ohm) with the Bryston. I'll give it a try when I return home and tell you how it sounds.

-Mitchell

nobel

« Reply #3 on: 13 Jan 2009, 09:42 am »

I have used 3. Two are Seinhessers and the other is Denon around the $100 dollar mark. They sound bad.

mbakes

« Reply #4 on: 13 Jan 2009, 01:53 pm »