OB Material and Panel Thickness

drwho

OB Material and Panel Thickness
« on: 18 Nov 2008, 06:24 pm »
Hi,
I am fairly new to OB but have been sort of an audiophile for the last 20 years or so.
I have been experimenting with OB designs similar to the MJK design with baffle size of 38"H x 20"W.

So far I have been very impressed with the sound and I don't impress easily.
My question is as follows and if it's been discussed before, could someone please direct me to the appropriate thread:

Does panel thickness or material used effect the quality of the actual sound in any way?
I have been using half inch chipboard, so just wondering?

Thanks

panomaniac

Re: OB Material and Panel Thickness
« Reply #1 on: 18 Nov 2008, 06:43 pm »
Hello Doctor - welcome to planet AC. How's the Tardis?

My experience has been that thickness and material do matter.  Maybe less then in a box speaker - because the pressures are so low on open baffle - but the baffles are open large.  So it's a trade off.

I never go less then 3/4" (19mm) and have done thicker.  Hey, it's just a baffle, so splurge! It also seems that decoupling the woofers will help a bit.  E.G., use weather stripping between woofer and baffle and put rubber washers on the nuts and bolts.

Then it's up to you what material you want.  I'm sure there will be a lot of opinions here on that subject. :D

drphoto

« Reply #2 on: 26 Nov 2008, 05:18 pm »
anyone tried corian?

JoshK

« Reply #3 on: 26 Nov 2008, 05:26 pm »
I've seen corian done before for the Isiris speakers and also John K's NaO's.  Its apparently quite machinable.

I am building my baffles by laminating 3 3/4" sheets together, 2 outer ones are MDF and the one inner one is baltic birch.  I am giving the edges a 1.25" roundover so I needed the thickness.  The resulting baffles are quite heavy! 

drwho

« Reply #4 on: 26 Nov 2008, 08:18 pm »
Josh, are you going to use carpenters glue to laminate the 3 pieces together or something else?

JoshK