Total novice questions

Big Red Machine

Total novice questions
« on: 17 Nov 2008, 11:03 pm »
I don't PLAN to get serious about vinyl so don't call me Shirley.  Anyways, I have an old Technics SL Q2 TT with a Shure V15 Type IV cartridge.

First, I don't know if it is a MM or MC cartridge.  And I'm clueless if the thing is even remotely close to being aligned properly.

I have no phono preamp and for play, if there a recommended unit in the 250ish range worth the equivalent set up I have now?  I see some units have the ability to adjust voltages but I have no idea why and to what level.

Any clarifications and recommendations accepted.

richidoo

Re: Total novice questions
« Reply #1 on: 17 Nov 2008, 11:25 pm »
I have the same TT, also a novice, hoping to stay that way. ;) The Q2 is pretty good for the money. Wayner has written about his here. Your Shure cart is MM, a classic Shure pretty decent cart, no longer made. I use a Shure M97 (MM) with Bellari tube phono preamp with an RCA black plate 12AX7 tube. It is a satisfying sound, but very far from what's possible with better analog gear. I have a small collection of old, well-worn LPs I used when studying music, so I keep the TT for that only. I would look at an AT-440 cartridge as my next upgrade, some vibration reducing feet, then an Eastern Electric tube phono preamp next. Lets hope I never get there - by then I will be way past the point of no return.... :D The dark side is hard to resist.

Airborn

« Reply #2 on: 17 Nov 2008, 11:43 pm »
BRM,