Photo lessons you've learned (with examples)

BradJudy

Photo lessons you've learned (with examples)
« on: 11 Nov 2008, 08:38 pm »
I was going to just post this in my Prague thread, but I figured we could make it a general purpose thread and everyone can contribute. 

The intent is to post examples where you took a shot, then repeated the shot in a different way and how that made a real difference in the result. 

I'll get the ball rolling with a few.  I'm only an amateur and I'll just do some basics.  Perhaps others will add more nuanced items. 

Here's a classic of a room lit mostly by sunlight first taken with the auto mode on the camera:

Then manually reducing the exposure to match the outside light and show the countryside:

I think the second image works much better.  One could do an HDR combination, but I expect the result would look unnatural (as HDR often does). 

Here's one I think would be a common tourist picture (one of the statues on the popular Charles Bridge):

Which gains a lot of impact, IMO, when framed with a bit more of the surroundings (one of the two flanking statues):

Of course, this depends on having something interesting to include in the frame. 

I don't have a before/after, but this was a popular trick for me on this trip.  Want to take a good picture of a pretty ceiling?  Turn off the flash, set the shutter timer, set the camera on the floor, hit the button and step back.  Since some locations didn't allow tripods, this was quite useful.  I also did some by setting it on a table or pew. 

Who can forget the cardinal rule of waiting for the right light?  These two were taken less than an hour apart as the sun finally came out one afternoon.  Since the church was facing west, I wandered back over once the sun came out to get a better picture.

Please post your tips/lessons with examples.

Bob in St. Louis

• Volunteer
  • "Introverted Basement Dwelling Troll"
Re: Photo lessons you've learned (with examples)