RWA-WLM complete system

Jim C

RWA-WLM complete system
« on: 3 Nov 2008, 02:32 am »
I am new to both this forum and to RWA products and wanted to share my experience to date. But first a little context to hopefully make sense of this posting. I do not consider myself an audiophile but rather just a guy who enjoys listening to music, akin to the descriptions that Jeff Day has made in his music lover's series. I have been researching the purchase of a modestly priced but high quality 2 channel system for some time. I travel a lot in my business, so have had an opportunity to hear quite a variety of systems at all price levels. I am also a researcher by trade and have read everything I can about this hobby.

In the end though, I have come to believe that the reviews of individual kit, measurements, technology approaches, prices, etc do little to help decide what is the best system approach to achieving the kind of sound a given individual seeks. You can only decide by listening to as much live music as you can, of the kind of music you enjoy, then trust your own ears in buying what system sounds best to you, rather than paying too much attention to the media, salesman, etc. I've also come to believe that in addition to the above, the synergy of all the parts of the system are much more important than the individual pieces themselves. And finally, you have to have some level of confidence in the service and support after purchase since most things breaks down or wear out eventually, and require some level of maintenance.