Suggestions for Speaker Crossover Caps

sandeepc

Suggestions for Speaker Crossover Caps
« on: 14 Oct 2008, 02:23 pm »
Hello, I am very new to this hobby and I have a two way bookshelves speaker  Infinity Kappa 200, although I do somewhat like the speaker, do you folks think if I changed the crossover components to a better quality, it would make some difference in the in the sound or imaging?..

Heres the crossover picture, any suggestions as to better quality caps would be very helpful.
Thanks

JimJ

• Ut Prosim
Re: Suggestions for Speaker Crossover Caps
« Reply #1 on: 14 Oct 2008, 02:40 pm »
I think for the money you'd spend I'd rather put it towards other stuff first :)

You could use the best film-and-foil caps and foil inductors possible in their design, and if their drivers have faults or their crossover point/slope isn't the best, then I'm not sure it's worth it.

As far as imaging goes, there's no substitute for experimenting with as many placements as you can. Learn what works really well in your room, and find out maybe where your room itself could use some treatment :)

sandeepc

« Reply #2 on: 14 Oct 2008, 02:51 pm »
Hi Jim, thanks for the advice. I thought so myself, but I am located in such a place that the most one can get is SONY.. and even these speakers I managed to get in a store a couple of years back and they never kept speakers any more ( because no one buys them).
Thats the reason why I was thinking maybe I could get some caps from parts express and fiddle around to see if I can get a better sound, in fact, there is a review of these speakers in affordableaudio website in the Feb 2006 edition, I mean I dont think its one of those flawed speakers and thats the reason why I was thinking of some tweeks to make it sound better..
But then I absolutely agree with you that money spent somewhere else in the system would give better results, but the like I said I am stuck in a place where this no scope for people like me to pursue in such hobbies..