AVI ADM9.1 (Built in amp & dac) any way to upgrade ?

spinnerbait70

Just happened upon the AVI site and am quite interested in their ADM9.1 package. a speaker set with amp & Dac built in, it seems as though it has very few options to upgrade. It has 2 optical digital and 1 analog RCA inputs. Any way for Emperical products to enhance?

PS I am a newbie but have been perusing this and many other sites trying to do as much research as possible. I'm still a little confused

Thanks - spinnerbait70

audioengr

Re: AVI ADM9.1 (Built in amp & dac) any way to upgrade ?
« Reply #1 on: 4 Sep 2008, 07:10 pm »
Sure, the Pace-Car can be applied to significantly lower jitter.

For instance, if you want to drive the system from a Toslink output from a Mac, then you can run the long toslink from the laptop to the rack and then into a Pace-Car.  The output from the Pace-Car can be short S/PDIF cable into the system you describe.  The Pace-Car will eliminate the jitter from the computer and the effects of the long Toslink cable.

To make this happen, I will need your laptop here to tune the Pace-Car to it.

Another option is using a Squeezebox, Sonos or Duet with the Pace-Car with WiFi from a laptop driving the music.  The WiFi device is on the rack and drives the Pace-Car.  The Pace-Car again drives the system with a short S/PDIF cable.  I dont need to tune the Pace-Car in this case, but I need the WiFi device to add a slave-clock input to it.

Either of these will sound exceptional and they with both be identical in sound quality.

Steve N.

spinnerbait70

« Reply #2 on: 4 Sep 2008, 07:26 pm »
Steve,
Thanks for the quick reply. The macbook - pace car is the direction I will likely go. Have you ever encountered the AVI package before?

Thanks again
Spinnerbait70

audioengr

« Reply #3 on: 4 Sep 2008, 07:31 pm »
Steve,
Thanks for the quick reply. The macbook - pace car is the direction I will likely go. Have you ever encountered the AVI package before?

Thanks again
Spinnerbait70