Recommend a CD transport and digital coax cable?

oneinthepipe

• Trainee
    • Salk Signature Sound/Audio by Van Alstine two-channel system
Recommend a CD transport and digital coax cable?
« on: 19 Jul 2008, 03:51 pm »
I ordered an Insight DAC yesterday.  Can anyone recommend a modestly-priced CD transport and digital coax cable?

I am new to digital sources and bought a JoLida JD100 CDP a few weeks ago.  When my new AVA equipment arrives, I intend to use the JD100 in a second system with my Omega 50. 

My main system will use an Insight pre-amp with phono, an Insight 240 amp and/or a Super 70i, and an Insight DAC.  Would an Oppo multifunction player or similar make a good CD transport?  What about a cable?  I've never owned a digital coax cable. 

gjs_cds

Re: Recommend a CD transport and digital coax cable?
« Reply #1 on: 19 Jul 2008, 04:17 pm »
First off--you're going to really like the Insight DAC.  I hope to see your review of it online!

I consulted Frank about this very issue--and his opinion is one that makes sense relative to my understanding of the technology.  (In other words, we completely agreed.)  The only purpose a transport really serves is providing the Insight DAC with a bunch of 1s and 0s.  As such, spending big bucks isn't necessary.  (Perhaps even foolish...  Save your money and expand your music library.)

I got a Phillips DVD5990 just last week.  It has coax digital out, as well as a USB input.  (In theory, I'd like to get an external hard drive and store my music in uncompressed .aiff format.  Don't know if this will work though.)  This model also reads pretty much any format you would throw at it. 

As for a digital cable, there's really no reason to spend a lot on this either.  The cable will transfer a 0 or a 1, or it will not.  There's nothing in between.