Tweaking Winamp and foobar ... and Northstar extremo dac?

rrthuss

Hi all,

I've been trying to tweak and found the MAD mp3decoder input decoder seems to improve winamp.  Running directsound2 out ... I can't seem to get kernal streaming or the asio output dlls to work.  Went back to foobar 0.8.3 but I need another copy of SRC because I lost the empirical disk that came with my offramp ... but even using directsound2 0.8.3 sounds good. 

I'm too lazy and busy to hunt cds etc so I find myself streaming music via winamp and shoutcast and I have a subscription to Yahoo musicmatch or whatever it's called and the decoding there seems lacking to me.  Is there a way to add a plugin to foobar to stream?  Does anyone know of a subscription type server that has decent encoding/decoding? 

Finally, I'm using a northstar dac that I still need to send to Steve for tweaking with my offramp ... but before I do that ... anyone have ideas on whether there are real gains from going to another DAC like the Northstar extremo or other DACS. 

System:  Empirical to Northstar out to YBA 1a Pre to YBA 1a monoblocks or Audibile Illusions Mod3A into Bedini 25/25 1 meg into various speakers (Essence Gems, Reynaud Trentes or Offrandes, Nuforce S-9s). 

Happy listening,

Rob

audioengr

Re: Tweaking Winamp and foobar ... and Northstar extremo dac?
« Reply #1 on: 13 Jul 2008, 06:00 pm »
Rob - send me an email and I'll send you SRC for Foobar 0.8.3.

Unfortunately I dont mod the Extremo anymore.  I only modded a couple of them.  Pain in the neck!

If you use ASIO, then you must use ASIO in Foobar output, not DirectSound2.

Steve N.

rrthuss

« Reply #2 on: 15 Jul 2008, 03:11 pm »
Thanks Steve,

My email addy is rrthuss@msn.com.  Since I need to pick up a second empirical/dac set up, are there any new DACS coming out to consider?  My first thought on the current DACS would probably be a Benchmark.