Need input...

ThorsHammer

Need input...
« on: 30 May 2008, 06:21 pm »
I'm a novice at this and could use a little help. Am currently in the process of upgrading my system. Right now I'm running Athena's...F2 floorstanding fronts..C center...B2 backs...from a HK 7200. System has to double for music and HT and the use is probably split about 60/40 and looking forward to more music time as the quality of the speakers increases.

The Athenas were produced by a small Canadian company -API -before they were bought out by Klipsch....think Mirage or Energy speakers for a comparison. They are very well built and ran me about $1000...had great reviews...and do a number of things well. Reproduction of vocals, strings and horns is excellent...high end can be a little harsh and fatiguing and they struggle with piano and bass. Bottom line...probably the top of the low end and just good enough to give me a glimpse into what joy it must be to hear equipment that's closer to the real thing.

I am also currently renovating my house but I can't wait any longer to upgrade...I've got the upgrade fever bad....but it will put a limit on me so I've set my near term sights on getting in the bottom half of the top end. I really only have one goal for my system...I simply want it to sound as close as possible to being there live. I don't like overly processed or cabinet affected sound. I just want honest, clear, detailed reproduction. I'll take the good with the bad as far as recordings go, I just want the sonic truth. Which actually had me leaning to Maggies for awhile but decided on a more directed sound.