transformer is guilty! (Cornet2)

leitmo

transformer is guilty! (Cornet2)
« on: 20 May 2008, 07:54 pm »
Hi everyone!

last week i finished my first Cornet2 and found some voltage errors (i post it and found some excellent recommendations from Jim

so i started checking all components, one by one.

i checked a half of the components when i tested the transformer secondary (i thought it could be the source of the voltage errors)

I measured voltage on secondary wires to Ground Chassis, RED, GREEN and YELLOW wires are doubled so they are supposed to be the same voltage but these are the results:

GREEN/YELLOW - GROUND: 124V
GREEN1 - GROUND: 128V
GREEN2 - GROUND: 130V
RED/YELLOW - GROUND: 75V
VIOLET - GROUND: 55V
YELLOW/BLACK - GROUND: 109V
YELLOW1 - GROUND: 107V
YELLOW2 - GROUND: 108V
RED1 - GROUND: 188V
RED2 - GROUND: 38V

strange, isn't it?

i'm not an expert on electronics but i'm convinced that the transformer doesn't work properly,
so if i change it everything should work??

Thanks for the patient!!!

hagtech

Re: transformer is guilty! (Cornet2)
« Reply #1 on: 21 May 2008, 06:10 pm »
Are you measuring AC or DC?  In-circuit, the transformer will act completely different than if unloaded.

jh

leitmo

« Reply #2 on: 21 May 2008, 07:52 pm »
Hello Jim!

I plug primary wires (220V) to PCB but secondary wires were unplugged so i measured between Ground and secondary wires one-by-one. All values are AC, transformer output is always AC, isn't it?

I asked AES, i'll better copy-paste their answer:

Hello Joan,
Could try measuring between the following wires:
Red to Red = 550 VAC
Green to Green = 6.3 VAC
Yellow to Yellow = 5 VAC

It looks like the measurements from your e-mail were measured from the center tap which comes out to about half of the Ideal:

RED-RED/YELLOW: IDEAL 550V REAL 300V
GREEN-GREEN/YELLOW: IDEAL 6'3V REAL 3'47V
YELLOW-YELLOW/BLACK: IDEAL 5V REAL 2'78V

According to your measurements the transformer is working properly.