Toob noob looking for stand-in while saving for sig 30.2

Canyoneagle

It's been a while since I've participated in this forum.  I guess I've been too busy enjoying listening to my compact Hemptones  8)

I am saving for a sig 30.2, and would like to replace my SLA tripath (Clari-T copy) with a bang-for buck tube integrated amp in the interim.  This particular tripath is a DIY unit (not by me) with some upgrades.  Unfortunately, I find the sound a bit edgy and bright for my taste, although it does sound pretty darn good with extremely well-recorded material.  I guess I am interested in experiencing the "warmer" sound that tubes (and the 30.2 :D) are reputed convey, although I have no experience with tubes.

I've seen people raving about using EL34 and EL84 tubes with these speakers.  Is one better than the other for this use?  I listen to a huge variety of music.  Everything from breathy acapella vocals, folk, alternative rock (less frequently), highly dynamic acoustic music, to prog metal (Tool), and just about everything in between.  I prefer a richness to the sound (good bass response, discernable texture, palpable air, warm vocals, etc).

Sources are a Rega Planet CD player (original) and an iMod (lossless).

I'm looking on the used market in the <$600 range, which more or less limits my choices, but there do seem to be some options out there.
Again, this is a stopgap opportunity for me to learn a little bit about tubes before we move off the grid and will need to optimize our energy demand.

Any thoughts?

Jon L

Re: Toob noob looking for stand-in while saving for sig 30.2
« Reply #1 on: 13 Mar 2008, 03:54 pm »

I'm looking on the used market in the <$600 range,

With that budget, I would personally be picking this amp for $550 before someone else does.  (No association with seller)
http://cls.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/cls.pl?ampstube&1210547823

Canyoneagle

« Reply #2 on: 13 Mar 2008, 04:05 pm »