Studio Lighting kit for home use

Carlman

Studio Lighting kit for home use
« on: 26 Jan 2008, 01:52 pm »
I'm looking to setup a small (11'x11') room as a photo  studio for product shots.  I'm looking for a 3-light kit with a soft box, and couple of other heads.  It'd be great if I could also take this setup on location also on the rare occasion I'm shooting a large wedding or doing some work at a manufacturing plant.  Most of my shots are for web sites and occasionally a brochure.
I don't shoot a lot but it seems to be getting more and more... and when you're designing a website and know exactly what you want, it's easier just to shoot it myself... Plus I have a degree in it, have done it professionally, etc. I'm basically doing the math now to see whether setting up a studio or hiring a local photographer will be the right move for me.

My experience with lighting is Broncolor and Speedlight mainly, using all formats of traditional film cameras 10 years ago.  I can't afford either of those lighting systems.  If I could get half of that performance for 1/10th the cost, that'd be fine.  I'm only shooting digital with a Canon Rebel XTi now.  The results mainly need to be good enough for mildly creative product shots... and secondarily for location shots.

So, I've come here to ask about cost-effective setups for this mini-studio...  I normally shop at B&H photo and I see they sell 'LED' and 'Fluorescent' lighting... I have no clue about this gear, is it any good?  Should I avoid it?  Looks like it'd only work for the studio and no location shoots.

Thanks for your thoughts on a good kit for this purpose/these purposes.

Many thanks,
Carl

F-100

Re: Studio Lighting kit for home use
« Reply #1 on: 26 Jan 2008, 04:03 pm »
Take a look at Paul Buff's flash units.