Analog or not?

A

Analog or not?
« on: 16 Dec 2007, 09:49 pm »
 Hi! I have been surfing here for a few months now and ready to ask some questions if some of you dont mine answering them.First let me tell you that i'm a nurd with computers and electronics.And also dont know how to operate a SB.I'm about to build a pair of the linkwitz orion open baffle loudspeakers and dont have a transport yet. An ATI 6012 amplifier will drive those babys and mayby a SB3 directly to the amp to play the tunes. So Q:1 Do i need analogue mods or digital? Or will digital mod with a dac be better?Q:2 Does the mods change or add something to the recorded material or only better the sound?Q:3 I live in HAMILTON,ONTARIO,CANADA and just heard that pandora is not available here,is this a major loss for me?Also the ATI amp input sensitivity is 1.0 volts for full rated power with a voltage gain of 28dB,will i need a kick ass power supply with burson buffer for optimum sound quality? Q:4 Is there a monthly fee to access internet radio with the SB?      THANKS.    AL.

Bigfish

Re: Analog or not?
« Reply #1 on: 16 Dec 2007, 10:18 pm »
A highly modified Squeezebox with high-end power supply is an excellent source but IMHO the main reason to go with a Squeezebox is convenience.  Once you rip all of your music to a hard drive you can access any song from the comfort of your listening chair. 

Analog versus digital mods:  If you plan to run direct from the S3 to the amps I believe you want to select the analog mods.  I am not certain you can conrol the volume from the S3 if you feed to a DAC and then to the amps.  I have a friend that uses an Altmann DAC and he has to go from the DAC to his preamp to the amps. 

If you go with the analog mods and want to directly feed the amps then I would definitely recommend the Burson Buffer.  It will make a very significant difference.

Based on everything I have read you will need an upgraded power supply with Digital or Analog Mods.