Optimising amps for multi-amping

gerado

Optimising amps for multi-amping
« on: 5 Dec 2007, 06:38 am »
If I were to multiamp my LF100 amp/amps is there any way , or any point in optimising the amplifier for better performance in the frequency range it will be used for.
That is, is there a tweak to make so the one used for low frequencies is optimised for this frequency band and the one used for high frequencies/midrange  sound sweeter, detailed, softer, harder what ever your preference might be.

The power supply has so much impact on the nice sound of these amps it is logical to assume one could start here someway? After all what might be ideal for base might be a compromise for the top end and vice versa and a middle ground might be the "factory setting" Hugh has chosen.

Go easy if this is silly question- Im only learning! :cry:

netaron

Re: Optimising amps for multi-amping
« Reply #1 on: 5 Dec 2007, 07:06 am »
I will try to help with my basic understanding of things. I know that certain caps have a better high or low end response depending on the type of cap. So you could try to modify an amp slightly for better upper or lower response by choosing different parts.

The other method would be to use an active cross over to filter out what you don't need and feed that signal to the amp, so the amp only has to work with the frequency it is fed. I'm sure this is how the multi amped systems with electronic cross overs work right now and keeps the amp from amplifying unwanted signals.

One las thing I would like to mention is that "only the simplest can accommodate the most complex" (credit here given to either Dr. Harvey "Gizmo" or 47 labs) trying to keep with the less is more approach.

haron 

AKSA

« Reply #2 on: 5 Dec 2007, 07:59 am »
Theo,