Another Newbie To Imod

fzpanda

Another Newbie To Imod
« on: 3 Nov 2007, 04:06 pm »
Dear all,

It is my first time ever hearing of the term imod, so please forgive me for sounding quite amateur, because I am one  :oops:

After having a look of this website and the product intro videos, my understanding of an imod is that, it is a cable/dock that directs the audio signal from the docking port instead of the traditional headphone output to a headphone amp (which includes the volume control) which is in term connected to my headphone.

I am not a hardcore audiophile, but of course, I want my ipod to sound much better. So basically, my question is : are Basso T2 Chrome and  a Cryo Dock (I just picked the best sellers here) all I need to purchase for my purpose, given that the only equipment I have right now is an ipod nano and a pair of headphone?

Thanks.
John

Vinnie R.

• Industry Contributor
    • http://www.vinnierossi.com
Re: Another Newbie To Imod
« Reply #1 on: 5 Nov 2007, 06:14 pm »
Hi John,

Welcome to Audiocircle and the RWA forum!

After having a look of this website and the product intro videos, my understanding of an imod is that, it is a cable/dock that directs the audio signal from the docking port instead of the traditional headphone output to a headphone amp (which includes the volume control) which is in term connected to my headphone.

With the 5G/5.5G iMods, you must purchase an ALO Audio iMod Dock Cable.  Yes, this plugs into dock connector of the iPod and is terminated with either a 1/8" stereo mini plug or RCA plugs (based on the cable you purchase).  The output is a line-output (meant to drive a headphone amp, but NOT headphones directly) and is a constant output voltage.  Your headphone amp (or home audio system) will have the volume control.  Also, with the 5G/5.5G iMods, the headphone output is not modded and remains stock.