Isolation

pjchappy

Isolation
« on: 10 Sep 2003, 09:22 am »
I want to try some sort of combination of isolation/vibration drainage.

I will buy a nice and thick solid maple cutting board.  Then, cones under the CDP from Mapleshade w/ weights on top.  Then, isolate this entire thing on Mapleshade's cork/rubber isolators.  

Figured a combo of vibration drainage into the board then isolating this would help w/ both internal vibrations, vibrations through the ground, and airborne vibrations from the music.

Sound good?

well, after looking at the Mapleshade site, this is exactly my idea and what I would like to do:

p

gary

Isolation
« Reply #1 on: 10 Sep 2003, 12:50 pm »
my suggestion would be to use two granite surface plates, with an innertube inbetween. then put whatever rubber pads you're using on the top surface plate, right underneath your component. i work in the optics industry, and our interferometric microscopes always sit on newport pneumatic isolation tables with active damping, they cost over $100k but you'd get very close to the same performance with this setup for well under $100.

grizzly.com sells small granite surface plates for unbelieveably cheap prices, and if you really want to use those cork things from mapleshade, you can buy the same exact thing  from mcmaster carr for a fraction of the price.

-gary

Gordy

Isolation
« Reply #2 on: 10 Sep 2003, 08:27 pm »
I've my cdp and tube amp spiked to thick butcher block and use aurios for isolation, though any of the bearing types will work.  It's a great combo for my situation.  The experience I have with the cork/rubber feet is that we were using them under five decimal place Mettler balances and found them to be about the same as the supplied hard rubber feet - useless.  Ended up using dense wool mats. Sonically, I'll stick to bearing types.

Gordy

eduard

Isolation
« Reply #3 on: 14 Sep 2003, 11:32 am »