Hello everyone I am a newbie

Castanza

« on: 9 Jan 2003, 08:08 pm »
I just found out about you guys, on audioasylum. I am new also to that board. The reason I joined was because I am so naive about all of the products of today. I just recently purchased a dvd player for the holidays. So than I decided I needed to get speaker stands, and when I was out looking you can imagine. I have a onkyo tx-sv454 receiver, with front & back& center mirage speakers. I just recently got the center:omni polar. Anyway I guess now after listening to  prologic 11 and dts and etc I want it.  I am now trying to learn what i can. I am trying to get something decent for home theater/music. Heck, 5 channel is new to me. I have looked at the denon avr 1603 & 1803. Also the integra dtr 5.3. So I have the fever.
P.S.
I don't know if any of you are Cigar smokers, but I am on the cigarweekly board as Castanza.

MaxCast

« Reply #1 on: 9 Jan 2003, 08:27 pm »
First question back is budget?  How much are you looking to spend?

How large is your room?
Do you have a subwoofer?
What model TV do you have?

For starters you picked a couple good receivers to listen to.  I don't think you could go wrong with either of them as long as they have the features you require.  Make sure you like the remote.  It is a shame to pick a receiver based on the remote but a well laid out, back-lit remote is nice.

Ferdi

« Reply #2 on: 9 Jan 2003, 11:06 pm »
One other thing to keep in mind:

You have something now that sort of works. You even have fairly reasonable components (don't know your existing Onkyo but is seems to drive your existing complement of speakers.) DPLII is nice if you want to turn stereo into 5 channel but I don't think many here would do that.

You say you want to develop your system for video and music. I was where you are about 18 months ago. I thought I was building a movie system but found myself listening to more and more music over time.