My visit today to Omega Speaker Systems

jsaliga

• Restricted
  • Vinyl Provocateur
    • The Spinning Record
My visit today to Omega Speaker Systems
« on: 4 Oct 2007, 11:50 pm »
I have been rebuilding my audio system bit by bit over the last six months or so, and I have been researching speakers for a few months.  I keep coming back to Omega speakers for a number of reasons.  I like the enclosure design, Omega speakers receive consistently good reviews, and the single driver approach appeals to my personal aesthetic that simple designs are perferable to complex, over engineered solutions.  At a time when mass market speaker companies are cramming in an absurd number of drivers, Omega's designs really do say that less is more.

Louis was kind enough to invite me to his Norwalk, CT shop for an audition.  I live in Northeastern CT, and Norwalk is a little less than a 2 hour drive.  I had the day off today so I grabbed a handful of CDs out of my music library and headed to Norwalk.  Louis met me at the entrance and led me through the shop back to where he has a listening room setup with a number of different amps.  Three different pairs of Omega speakers graced the front of the room and there was also a new Omega subwoofer there as well.

First up was the Super 3 XRS.  I was awestruck by how much room-filling sound the smallish 4.5" HempCone drivers were capable of.  I thought to myself that these would be perfect speakers for a small room or apartment where space is at a premium.  They don't take up a lot of real estate and they sounded great.  Louis then switched in the subwoofer.  Holy smokes was I impressed!  We were listening to some Don Caballero, math rockers known mostly for the virtuostic drumming of Damon Che.

Don Caballero - What Burns Never Returns