headphone amp vs Speaker amp

maggotbrain

headphone amp vs Speaker amp
« on: 26 Aug 2007, 08:22 pm »
Why are headphone amps better than speaker amps at driving phones?

Im looking at the Marantz PM4001OSE. It costs £200 and seems to be alot of kit for the money. It also comes with a remote control, tone controls and a headphone jack. When i compare that against a £200 headphone amp...

So how many times better is a headphone amp than a speaker amp?

Why are they better?

chadh

Re: headphone amp vs Speaker amp
« Reply #1 on: 26 Aug 2007, 09:10 pm »

I'm no expert on these sorts of things, but my vague understanding is that this all has to do with the difference in impedance of headphones and of speakers.  Typically, speakers have an impedance of something between 2 and 8 ohms.  Sometimes you might find 16ohm speakers.  But when you get to headphones, their impedances are significantly higher.  A pair of headphones with impedance of 30ohms is extremely low (although not uncommon), and for some well respected cans the impedance can be as high as 600ohms.

While headphones don't require a great deal of gain in amplification, the output impedance of the amp needs to be appropriate to ensure the right kind of current delivery to the headphones.  I think you'll find that the importance of a specialized headphone amplifier increases as the impedance of your headphones increases.  So, for example, Grado headphones are extremely well respected and also have (relatively) low impedence (around 30 ohms), and are probably less dependent upon a good headphone amp than the high end Sennheiser cans (with impedance of around 300ohms).  To continue with that comparison, it probably makes sense to use Grado headphones with a personal digital player like an i-pod, even though the amplifier in the i-pod isn't all that great.  But you would never want to plug a pair of Sennheiser HD600s into your i-pod, as the i-pod amp couldn't drive them.

Chad

maggotbrain