I am interested in the iMod, can I get help to point me in the right direction?

blazin_it_alwyz

Ok, let me give you just a little backstory.

I am a total noob when it comes to audio. Just today, I have spent hours and hours getting up to speed with what you should be using audio wise. Before yesterday, I thought headphones like these were good

http://microtechstore.com/images/np/B0002K.jpg

Proves how little I knew. I noticed I have been listening to audio on headphones almost exclusively now. Headphones when I use my laptop, when I use my iPod, and with the Sony PSP I will be getting, and another Mp3 player for jogging, I knew that I had to ditch the 20 buck headphones.

I figured 50 bucks would be a good price. How little I knew. After hours I finally found a good site, head-fi.org. Then I bumped my limit up to 70 bucks. Then I doubled my limit. This is all new to me, so I was surprised on how much money I wound up spending on just headphones (IEM, Atrio M5).

So then I found out about FLAC, and how rockbox will allow me to play them on my iPod. Made up my mind to get Rockbox. Then I kept seeing in people's sigs they had iMod. I was told that this was an expensive (at least for me) mod for a 4th generation iPod to make it sound infinitely better. Lucky for me I have an iPod Photo I thought. I kept thinking, this is all a lot of money to spend, but I kept reading up on this iMod. I figured if I was going to have high quality headphones, and FLAC files, no reason to not get iMod and be hearing the best possible source.

But I was not happy when I heard that you would need an amp to use the mod. I mean I use my iPod for portability, so having to lug around an amp is not ideal for me. But after a few hours (which is where I am now) I figure that getting an amp is worth it. And that is pretty much where I am now.