Room Space Required for OB speakers

ttan98

Room Space Required for OB speakers
« on: 27 Apr 2007, 01:08 am »
I am new to OB baffle speakers and I understand to operate an OB speakers effectively they need some space behind the drivers. Also allow for some space in front. Overall the room needs to be fairly large, how large?

Does any here can tell me what is the ball park figure or min room size needs to be considered even before I build a pair? My room is rectangular in shape, the dimension is 9ft  by 12ft and the ceiling is about 8.5ft high.

Anyone cares to comment?

Thanks in advance...

opnly bafld

• 83 Klipsch LSIs
Re: Room Space Required for OB speakers
« Reply #1 on: 27 Apr 2007, 02:31 am »
I have used mine in a room with similar dimensions.
You can always damp the back of the speakers by covering the drivers and/or do the same with the wall behind the speakers.
There are so many variables that experimenting is usually the only way to know for sure.

Lin

JANDG

« Reply #2 on: 27 Apr 2007, 03:17 am »
I run a 2nd , well 3rd system in a room that small & baffles are 1' from back wall, they have all the magic one could want..  vintage 12" alnico FR' ran w/ vintage tube amps. They suck you in & don't let go.Don't let room size & close to back wall stop you. I also run my main in OB at 2' from back wall in much bigger room..

PhishPhan

« Reply #3 on: 27 Apr 2007, 03:56 am »
What about OB speakers and their proximity to side walls? Does it matter how close they get? I only ask because I have a long but narrow room.

ttan98

« Reply #4 on: 27 Apr 2007, 04:19 am »
The speakers will be facing the long end, on one side of the speaker is facing  the closed windows, and the other side open ended. The back of the speaker will face the wall.

dewar

JLM

• The elephant normally IS the room
« Reply #6 on: 27 Apr 2007, 08:27 am »