AV-3 project

mas

AV-3 project
« on: 7 Apr 2007, 02:07 am »
Hello all, I recently purchased the AV-3 and OB-5 kits. As a newbie woodworker, I have started on the AV-3 with the OB-5 waiting in the wings. I have the cabinets nearly completed for the next step, but I have a couple of questions before proceeding to the veneering.

I'm curious what folks have done for a speaker grille.

I have some neodymium magnets fromparts express , but their location depends on the grille design.   I was thinking of using the open foam found at http://www.mcminone.com/product.asp?catalog_name=MCMProducts&product_id=LS00904
 I guess I would just glue the magnets into the foam. I'd have to hollow out the foam on the back side to accommodate the flush mount woofers.

The other idea I have is to use a cove moulding to fit on the round-over on each side of the speaker connected  the moulding at the top and bottom with a cross brace, and then wrap the whole deal in grill cloth.

Man, those magents are strong! I'm a little worried repeated on/off might mar the veneer. How deep into the speaker should those go? They are the ones in the current parts express flyer, 3/8" diameter, with a depth of .2"

What size drill should be used for the stock threaded insert? Does the insert just get pushed in, or should I also epoxy it in place?

After I get the inserts and grill  magnets in place, I'm ready for the veneer.  I plan on using raw figured sapele using Titebond pva iron on. My question is how long the glue can sit before beginning the ironing. Do people do the whole speaker at once, or in sections? There are four seperate sections: bottom, back, top, and then front and sides.   I'm worrried about getting glue on the veneer if I have to apply the glue to the substrate after some veneer is in place, so I would prefer to  do it at once.