Does the PC Matter?

LFord

Does the PC Matter?
« on: 13 Mar 2007, 06:25 pm »
I'm a newbie here, and considering going the computer audio route.  I've looked over some of the threads on OS and application software tweaks, and I'm wondering how much the PC itself matters.  I know the roughly 2-year-old desktop computer sitting in my office is way too noisy to be placed in the listening room (currently the living room for me).  My slightly older Dell laptop is quieter, but still too noisy.  I'm wondering if anyone has looked into a "quiet" PC (see www.endpcnoise.com for examples).  Have computers gotten dramatically quieter lately, or do you all run cables from another room?  More generally, how do you go about integrating the computer into your audio system, while still keeping it usable for other, boring but necessary, computing tasks?

Thanks for any and all thoughts,
Lou Ford

CSMR

Re: Does the PC Matter?
« Reply #1 on: 13 Mar 2007, 06:36 pm »
If you can run cables from another room that is ideal (then you only need a relatively quiet computer, not a completely quiet one).
You can certainly get a quiet computer from endpcnoise. Or you can go to SPCR and master the intricacies of building a quiet machine yourself. It depends on how much you value your time.

audioengr

« Reply #2 on: 13 Mar 2007, 07:49 pm »
Noise is very laptop dependent.  I have had good luck with full-featured Toshibas, in the $1500 -$2000 range.  I would only buy an expensive Sony Vaio, not a cheap one.  hp Pavilions are good and have large disk available.  Make sure that you get:

Large disk
2 GBytes DRAM
Fast CPU - at least 1 GHz, preferably Pentium
Fast CDROM/DVDROM drive - for fast rips - these usually only come on more expensive laptops

Steve N.

LFord

« Reply #3 on: 14 Mar 2007, 02:23 pm »