price of new records

lcrim

price of new records
« on: 21 Jul 2003, 07:38 pm »
I am a relative newbie to vinyl (this time around) and have no new recordings, only stuff which has been around the block many times.  As a result, surface noise or the old crackly sound is a constant companion to a greater or lesser degree.
I was wondering if new records would eliminate this noise.  I expect there will be those who are atteched to this and the prices of new records are sometimes heart stopping.  What would you consider a fair price ?
I think $10 would be about right but I am curious to hear what others think.
Searching through thrift shops and yard sales has only provided more crackly vinyl for me.  Maybe I am expecting the silent background of CD's along with the dynamics and natural sound I hear on vinyl.  Not having a vinyl player for many years has kind of skewed my outlook.

Psychicanimal

Re: price of new records
« Reply #1 on: 21 Jul 2003, 08:58 pm »
Quote from: lcrim
I am a relative newbie to vinyl (this time around) and have no new recordings, only stuff which has been around the block many times.  As a result, surface noise or the old crackly sound is a constant companion to a greater or lesser degree.
I was wondering if new records would eliminate this noise.  I expect there will be those who are atteched to this and the prices of new records are sometimes heart stopping.  What would you consider a fair price ?
I think $10 would be about right but I am curious to h ...

Two things:

1) You need to go to decent used record stores.
2) Make your own record cleaning fluid and get a decent brush.

I buy used vinyl and most of it it's in great shape!

dogberry

price of new records
« Reply #2 on: 21 Jul 2003, 09:51 pm »
As long as the records are free from heavy scracthing, cleaning them should really make a difference.  I picked up a dozen used albums this past weekend and cleaned them with my Nitty Gritty machine.  They are almost dead quiet.