AVA Fet Valve Ultra 350 and CJ MV50

sylbarth35

AVA Fet Valve Ultra 350 and CJ MV50
« on: 8 Feb 2007, 08:06 pm »
Hi,

I am new to this AVA forum.

As I don't have the opportunity to ear an AVA amp, I am looking for someone that would have done a comparison between an  Fet Valve Ultra 350 and a Conrad Johnson MV50, an amp that I know very well.

Thanks for your help

Regards.

Sylvain

avahifi

Re: AVA Fet Valve Ultra 350 and CJ MV50
« Reply #1 on: 9 Feb 2007, 02:58 pm »
I cannot comment on the CJ amp as I have not heard one recently.

However, I can relate one interesting comparison tale that happened here.

A potential client wanted to compare his Counterpoint equipment with our Fet Valve hybrid preamps and amplifers of the time (a few years ago).  So he dragged his two heavy huge Counterpoint units here and we had a good listening session.  He judged that the Fet Valve equipment was far superior and ordered new units from us on the spot.  When it was time for him to go home, he said he would leave the heavy Counterpoint stuff to pick up later.

When his equipment was ready, he picked it up, but said he did not have room to take the Counterpoint equipment with him then and would be back for it.

THREE YEARS LATER  he finally called and said did I still have the Counterpoint equipment around here somewhere.  Of course we did, holding down a shelf in our special cryogenic storage area (unheated garage).  About six months after that he finally showed up to retrieve his previous pet equipment.  I know our equipment was good, but had not realized it was that good in comparison. :)

Suggestion, you better have a firm buyer lined up for your existing equipment when you decide to upgrade to AVA, or you too may end up with spare shelf restricter weights.   :o

Cheers,

Frank Van Alstine

sylbarth35

« Reply #2 on: 9 Feb 2007, 03:55 pm »
Thanks for your answer Franck, it is a nice tale !