My new addition

George W

My new addition
« on: 14 Jul 2003, 05:15 am »
Hey Guys

I’m new to vinyl and turntables but my Dad just gave me his old Philips record player which had been sitting unused for at least 20 years.  It’s a Philips 212 Electronic.  I hooked it up to my system last night and fell asleep listening to a borrowed copy of “The Wall.”  It sounds good but as I have no other references I’m curious as to how good of a player this really is.  My father claims it was near top of the line back when he bought it in ’73 or 74.  The original instruction manual has the following introduction (long):

“This Hifi record player features electronic speed control employing a tacho generator, photo-electronic off-switch, floating suspension of turntable and pick-up arm, electronic touch controls for start, speed selection and stop and a head shell with the unique slide-in system for SUPER M cartridges.  
The important advantages which result from the electronic speed control are, high stability of turntable speed, negligible wow and flutter and accurate individual speed adjustment.  The slow running high-torque motor, the high quality turntable bearing and the precision drive belt ensure exceptionally low rumble transmission.  The photo electronic off-switch works without any forces acting upon the virtually frictionless and fully resonance damped pick-up arm.  By means of the electronic touch controls operation is possible without exerting any mechanical force on the mechanism, thus avoiding unwanted vibration during operation and moreover acting absolutely silent.